top of page






Down and down I go Further down the rabbit hole A bottomless pit of my own design I cannot control this land of mine


With windy paths, twist and turns They all lead to the queen of hearts And yet I am lost I cannot control this land of mine


With tulips so fine I sit and listen to their morning song But I stay too long And their soft rhymes turn into siren songs I cannot control this land of mine


Run rabbit run, run

You're late?

I’m late

What’s today?

I cannot stop to say hello, goodbye

I cannot slow down, I cannot stop now

I cannot control this land of mine


A cup of tea will suit me fine Slow and steady wins the race But I can’t see a familiar face A top hat above my head Looks like I’ve gone mad I cannot control this land of mine


Who am I?


Sit and ponder, maybe the queen knows But I need to go this way and that way And all I want is home I cannot control this land of mine


I sit and cry in this terrifying place Filled with friends saying I’m safe Drip Drop Drip Drop Goes my tears, I cannot stop I cannot control this land of mine


Too and throw I get tossed about the salty sea A pirate’s life was never for me Maybe if I stop struggling, stop swimming Maybe then I’ll be free I cannot control this land of mine


All this is, is a game of chess But every time I move it is my chest that hurts Afraid that one wrong move And my kingdom I have built will tumble into ruin I cannot control this land of mine


Paint the white roses red Paint them whatever colour you desire Not a tear will be shed Because I know they’ll cease to grow In fact they’ll soon be dead Go ahead, paint the white roses red I cannot control this land of mine


Off with my head! But the queen lays dead No sight or sound, just her on the ground And I dread to think What will become of me now? I cannot control this land of mine


The queen is dead and I have a hat on my head But not a mind to fit it With friends as mad as me Telling me I’m safe I still fear the Jabberwocky And in the deepest parts of me I start to believe I am the beast that destroys this land of mine


So down and down I go Further into the rabbit hole When all I want is home A bottomless pit of my own design I am the beast that destroys this land of mine

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page