top of page

The sin eater

Updated: Feb 27, 2020



I will never see my home agian

“I give easement and rest now to thee, dear man. Come not down the lanes or in our meadows. And for the peace, I pawn my own soul. Amen.”


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sin-eater (A local legend in Shropshire, England)

-------------------------------------------------------------


I shall not walk down the golden glen, for my soul will never be cleansed. I walk down a lonely road and the path glows with flames. Eat up, Sin Eater, for I have sinned plenty…


Nor bread nor ale can help my sinful soul for I shall never see the knoll beyond the fields. The gates of heaven will never yield as I have committed tales of horror your lips will never yell.


Let the sour ale run down your throat, staining your cheeks red, and your soul a hideous guilt that will never see the light of day.


I had found God the wrong way.


I had believed in his voice and his might for I am just a man, blinded by the darkness that corrupts his soul, for no human is born pure.


Lay a feast, Sin Eater, you shall not starve tonight, nor shall you see tomorrow’s light.


As you take each bite, timorous your soul will become. Delirious your mind will fall.


Fall in to the depths of hell with me as heaven has abandoned you, even if you are their hero.


I shall wait for the day they lay your body to rest and your soul wanders through the depths of hell to find me.


There we shall stand among an empty crowd.


You and me


Me and you


Father and son


I had found god the wrong way; the devil led me astray. Be not mad with me as I have fallen to my knees,


praying to the wrong deity.


I shall wait till they lay your body to rest and I can thank you for being the one I can trust, for God does not forgive.


And the one I should have called father, cleanses my soul in hopes of paying the toll as they dig a six-foot hole.


I shall wait for the day they lay your body to rest.


You and me


Me and you


Father and son.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page