top of page

The people that go missing

Updated: Jul 29, 2019


I waited, to hear no sound

The autumn sun shone brightly while the pavement was decorated with warm yellow and brown leaves. The trees are bare apart from the small amount of leaves that still cling on to the skinny branch. The trees line the edge of the pavement, separating it from the road. The road was quiet and isolated with no cars driving by and no one else walking down the pavement.


I was completely alone.


No matter how light that afternoon might seem, no matter how lonely the street was, I still felt as though a crowd of people were watching me, I felt as though they were talking amongst themselves in hushed whispers to make it seem as though the road to my house was quiet.


I have been known to sense paranormal entities but I did not get the feeling of my hairs standing on my arms and the tingling sensation of something wrong and the impending doom that lurked behind me or in the shadows of my home. I never had the sensations I normally get when I walked down that road.


I carried on walking down the road, trying to brush off the fact that something was wrong, something was terribly wrong. I turned the corner, increasing my speed. I looked to my right, down the road where no one had walked behind and where no car passed me. The leaves on the ground was pushed to the side of the pavement, creating a clear walkway for people. The bushes that stood on the other side where covered in tiny yellow leaves that glowed with a sense of beauty. The trees stood tall, guarding the pavement from the cars that were to go past this area.


I pear over at the pavement I turned down, the leaves were scattered all of the pavement without care, the trees swayed in the cold breeze while the bushes that continued on from the other road rustled in time with the trees. This felt natural; a place where nature was chaotic and beautiful all at the same time. I continued on my way, feeling more at ease until I got halfway down the pavement and felt as though thousands of people were watching me and whispering about me. I looked behind me to see that the pavement now was cleared of the leaves as they laid by the side of the pavement, the trees stood tall and still without a single gush of wind blowing a leaf off its own branch, the bushes did not sway with gentle kindness but instead stood still as if they were petrified and the beautiful yellow leaves did not glow as they now appeared to be wilted.

I could feel my paranoia getting the best of me, I felt as though who ever was following me was doing this on purpose but I never heard footsteps behind me.


“Hello?” I whispered, thinking that anyone could walk around the corner and miss judged the situation. I waited; I waited for a whisper or a gust of wind.


Nothing.


I sighed with a shrugged and turned around to continue on my way home. A low humming sounded through the still air while the faint smell of burnt meat and the smell of the inside of a rotten mouth violated my nose. I turned around to see something that only the mind of the most unsettled person can dream up.


On long stilt like legs was a lanky beast of flesh while his head was shaped like a deformed light bulb. The face held 15 eyes with each in their own socket, the eyes were a void that you can never escape from. Its mouth shifted in to a toothy grin that showed the pointed spikes that waited in his mouth for his next meal to chew on. Unfortunately I think that would be me. His skin was red raw with pumping blue veins. Its breathing was raspy and hard to hear, almost as if he was trying to control himself.


I stepped back, crunching on a leaf behind me. His mouth grew wider as his eyes seemed to be moving every which way on their own accord. His jaw unhinged like a snake, showing off three rows of pointed, red-stained teeth.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page