top of page

The girl in the glass box

Updated: Jul 29, 2019


I take the liberty to drink my sorrows and swallow my anger

Trapped in an invisible cage,I am not a mime for you to watch.

I am only free and happy when it suits you,

when my mouth is sealed together

making it the perfect pair of lips to kiss.


I paint a smile on my lips every morning before you wake up

because I know you would want nothing less than perfect.

I am not just a doll for you to show off to your friends,

but I only come alive when you are no longer around.


when you're gone for weeks and months at a time

I take the liberty to drink my sorrows and to swallow my anger

for when you come back I know it will rise up even stronger.


I don't dance, or kiss or go out with any other men

but you won't give me the respect of trusting me.

accusing me of cheating and lying

as if I would sell myself to some other man,


I get it, maybe you know you treat me terribly

and you're scared of losing me to someone

who can look after me better than you have ever done.


I may not raise my voice often,

afraid that when I do, you would fight back

and put me back in my glass box,

only to down out my voice, my existence.


there will come a day where the glass will shatter

like my heart has done so many times

when it had been chiselled and dented my the man I used to love.


The glass will break by my hands, by my voice because

I will yell louder than I have done before

and fighter tougher than I have ever done before,

then and only then will you notice me.


Because you will be forced to listen to me

as I place you in a front row seat

to watch a mime who can speak and yell louder than all his fellow companions

such a rare oddity it will be for you will realise that you have mistreated me.


And you will realise it's too late to change.


for the show has ended and I will vanish before your eyes

like a magician,

I will leave you wishing you had paid attention

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page