top of page

Liberosis/onism



Liberosis

Free me from these chains I have set upon myself Lift the sky from my shoulders

Cut me down from the great oak tree


I no longer wish to care

because to care is to no longer be free


Let my soul be consumed by the sea

where I am vast and carefree


Let me be as calm as I want to be

and wild as I am meant to be


without judgment

and without thought.


Let old age be the bringer of death

not stress I so willing coat my hands in


I want to feel the black sands of stress

cascade from my fingers

as my aching bones sigh in relief


Free me they scream…

Liberate me.


Onism

As a baby, I felt small

As a child, I felt small

As a teenager, I felt small

But as an adult, I feel insignificant


Surrounded by a sea of people

I am still alone on this journey.


The map on the wall is stained with age

only half marked with a pen I brought from Spain.


I have seen the large sea that covers the earth from many locations

and with each time I gaze upon it, it is more beautiful than the last


The darkness that buries a hole in my chest

longs to be filled with excitement and adventure.


My feet carry me forward,

pushing me to venture.


The calling for exploration

leads me to new places to new people


and yet I am not satisfied.


I am insignificant


Among a sea of people where tales of far off lands and adventures

hang heavily in the air, I have travelled my fair share

but I still cannot compare.


Beyond the mountains, beyond the vast fields

is something new,

something very few have seen and told tales of.


Do not mistake this for jealousy or unhappiness,

I long to venture and to experience what earth has to offer

because though I have many days, they are limited.


Insignificant and small am I.

I know I shall never fill the hole that breaks my heart


when I look at the map on the wall stained with age,

half marked with a pen I brought from Spain.



Both words come from the dictionary of obscure sorrows.

Liberosis -The desire to care less about something

Onism - the frustration of being stuck in one body that is only in one place at a time.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page