top of page

Updated: Jul 29, 2019


We never forget the memories of our home

The old town brought back memories of when I used to live here with my parents. Nothing has changed since I last walked its roads.

I walked down the cracked road to the small cafe that me and my friends used to hold our secret club meetings. We would always order various teas instead of coffee. One of our group members always got too hyper whenever they drank coffee so, we made it a rule to only drink tea.

The small bell rang above the wooden door as I enter the still, quiet cafe. I sat down on our usual table by the window. I can still see them sitting beside me, the warm sun shining on their faces; revealing their happy smiles.

"The meeting is now in session." Clair used to announce once everyone’s drinks had arrived.

"I think it's high time we held a club event." Isabel jumped in. She was a beautiful blonde who always sat by the window and watched the people walked by.

"We can always host a party at school." Olivia chimed. She's the shortest out of all of us and the reason why we drink tea.

"They would never allow us." Claire sighed before gulping down some of her English rose tea.

"That's why we'll do it at night! School clubs don't finish till five at the latest. We'll wait in one of the art class rooms and once clubs finish, we'll hide in the storage area till the teachers leave and then we shall party." We had all looked at Olivia as if she was crazy while her childish smile stayed glued on to her face. We laughed after a while and agreed on the plan.

I sighed as I stood up and looked around the cafe. It's a lot quieter than I remember, but if I listen close enough, I can hear the whispers of all the old customers.

I left the cafe and made my way to the school. We never did party at the school, it was never the right time or people were too busy with other plans. A year ago, would have been the right time. Our last time together would have been of pure happiness before everyone went their separate ways.

The school halls were quiet and empty with no soul to fill the soundless void. Everything was shown in the halls, weather it was romantic or a fight these halls never missed an episode. The halls always whispered the latest gossip about the latest couple.

As I walk the halls on my way to the roof, I could feel the small hallway closing in. I had missed everything here. I missed the memories of my friends, I missed how everyone knew who you were, I miss the lessons that were interrupted and brought drama to the painted dull class. I could tell that the building missed having people to keep it company with their endless talk and arguing.

Upon reaching the roof I walked over to the ledge and hung my legs over the building. Sitting down on a tall building I can finally see what this world has become.

Buildings laid in pieces as green plants and wildlife tried to cover the grey world. The sun was setting, casting an orange hue over the dark blue sky and over the town that now rest in silence. As the evening breeze brushed past it carried the sound of a far away ambulance.

Life has never been the same since the incident a year ago and now the whole world lies in ruin.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page