top of page

The smell of memories

Updated: Jul 29, 2019



The smell of happy days filled with joy

The girl who sits next to me in class smells like the time when life was simple, she reminds me of when we would count bears to help us learn maths. The times when the problem of the world was for our parents to worry about.


My girlfriend smells like the beach, Fried Doughnuts with a load of sugar on top to give you diabetes. She smells like the salty sea and the fresh air that brings life to your lungs and wraps you in coldness.


The stranger’s smell reminds me of the time I spent with my ex. A memory that Is strange to smell since I have not smelt this memory in years. I wonder why they carry such a smell; I wonder why I am smelling the memory now.


People carry smells that remind me of the past, that remind me of the places that I have been and miss.


I know a person who smells like burnt strawberries and henna. They remind me of the time when my mum died and how her body smelt like burnt strawberries.


I had found a smell that makes me happy. The smell was filled with lavenders and roses. I have wandered for many years what the smell reminded me of and why it filled me with such joyous emotion.


I now stand at the altar waiting for my beautiful wife to appear, and when she does, I can smell the scent of lavender and roses. I have found the memory. A memory that that will bring me joy and tears of happiness for years to come; as I stand watching my wife and shedding tears of happiness and joy as she walks down the aisle to forever promise each other our love.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page